The Greatest Loss

sdr
At Dawn

What I now know
is less than I could have known, but greater than me.
While it rests in the I, it flows out of my eye.
I can’t keep it.
It is never mine, never yours.
We are floating in and out of our beings
and you are forever glorious and imperfect, my love.
What I now know is a liquid step in the desert –
it will perish through the transient days.
Out of ignorance, we committed
more crimes than we would, if we knew:
Debt is paid only by death.
Dead love is, as it seems, the greatest loss of a man.

Leave a Reply

